Marginal #4 and Unicorn Jr. “REAL?/Ko・ko・ro・hi・to・tsu” (Review)


As we near the end of this massive batch of single from the Marginal #4 series, we’re greeted with a surreal “REAL?/Ko・ko・ro・hi・to・tsu“, top tier single that brings out the sexy undertones in both Unicorn Jr., and L from Marginal #4. 

unicorn jr

Title: REAL?/コ・コ・ロ・ヒ・ト・ツ
Label: Rejet/Pitagoras Production
Release date: 01/03/2017
Genre: J-Pop/Dance


1 - REAL? (Unicorn Jr.)
2 - コ・コ・ロ・ヒ・ト・ツ (KENN)
3 - REAL? (anime version)
4 - コ・コ・ロ・ヒ・ト・ツ (anime version)
5 - REAL? (off vocal)
6 - コ・コ・ロ・ヒ・ト・ツ (off vocal)

Track by track analysis:

1 – REAL?

Unicorn Jr. tackle their first song into the anime series. As expected by the group’s fans prior to the anime adaptation, this unit mixes once again rock with electronica in a powerful dance mix that no other group in this franchise can rival. Dance pop is for this group as rock is for Lagrange Point, the perfect match. “Real?” is a mid-tempo loungy dance song with melodic verses and an addictive chorus. Aoi, Someya and Sawashiro gave their all for this addictive tune full of vocal highlights to impress its listeners. If there is a top song among these new Marginal #4 universe bundle of songs is this one. Lagrange Point‘s was also a top song but this one, it’s on its own league. 5/5

2 – コ・コ・ロ・ヒ・ト・ツ

KENN (L) gets a solo track after the slight trainwreck that was his duet song with Yuto Suzuki (R). This time around things were fleshed out in a different way, putting aside the cute antics and embracing KENN‘s trademark natural sexy and smooth vocals. Heavy guitar riffs mix with an assortment of indian, japanese and chinese percussion and/or strings – you read it well. Everything is in this song to give it an exotic touch, which was more than well crafted as we had the opportunity to listen. This song has a sort of dangerous vibe to it, the instrumental by itself is challenging mixing sitar with guitars. KENN‘s seductive vocals lead the way in this intoxicating song where everything is allowed. Think about “Masquerade” getting a facelift and turning into a sexy song. Yeah, that’s right. “Kokoro Hitotsu” is so far the best solo song in this series. 5/5

Final rating:5 stars

Now this was the single we were looking for! Both tracks were beyond our expectations, although we initially had higher expectations for Unicorn Jr.‘s track rather than the b-side solo. This is a high quality, inspired single. On one side we have Unicorn Jr. releasing what we think it’s their best track to date. On the other side we have KENN finally – and we mean finally – making good use of his godly vocals. Thank god MIKOTO and Daisuke Iwasaki changed things around a little bit and didn’t go towards the “cutesy” road again. “Kokoro Hitotsu” is a song that does justice to KENN‘s smooth vocals with some sprinkles of sexy on it, the result is obvious, alongside the exotic instrumental he sounded impressively well.

All in all, we can say that this release is well worth your time, especially if you’ve been looking for a pop song with an extra flair or a dance track that isn’t annoying at all in which vocal performances are of top tier quality.

REAL?/コ・コ・ロ・ヒ・ト・ツ (Kokoro hitotsu)” is available for purchase on CDJAPAN for all overseas fans.



2 responses to “Marginal #4 and Unicorn Jr. “REAL?/Ko・ko・ro・hi・to・tsu” (Review)

  1. Pingback: Marginal #4 “KISS Kara Tsukuru Big Bang” (Review) | The Hand That Feeds HQ·

  2. Pingback: Marginal #4 “Tamashii no Non Stop Lover / Kizuna” (Review) | The Hand That Feeds HQ·

Comments are closed.